Category: SJPoli Explained

2022 Affordable Housing Team Update

At Monday’s regular City Council meeting, the annual update from the Affordable Housing team was presented. Here are some highlights:

  • Creation of Civic Housing Action Fund to support affordable housing developments. 10% of funds raised via all development fees will go into this fund.
  • Identified 4 city-owned vacant lots of land for housing.
    • 28 Eric St
    • 375 Waterford Bridge Rd
    • 245 Forest Rd
    • 80-90 Empire Ave
  • Two projects under the Rapid Housing Initiative are almost complete which will add 20 more affordable units.
  • Working with the Indigenous Housing Team to translate their tenant rights & responsibilities kit into Inuktitut and Innu-aimun.
  • Worked with 5 community groups for alternate ways to get more housing in the city
  • Began working with Metrobus to improve transportation systems as they relate to affordable housing
  • continued work on proposal to waive fees for developers building affordable housing.

City Council Lead Assignments for 2021-2023

At today’s City of St. John’s weekly Muncipal Council meeting, the lead assignments were revealed.

Councillors take the lead in major areas, committees (standing, advisory, working group, expert panel)  & boards. Typically these assignments last for 2 years. Switching every 2 years allows Councillors to get hands-on experience in each area and with the City staff who work in those areas.


Public Works Councillor Sandy Hickman 
Planning Councillor Ian Froude 
Sustainability Councillors Ian Froude and Maggie Burton 
Governance Mayor Danny Breen 
Economic Development Mayor Danny Breen
Inclusion Councillor Debbie Hanlon 
Finance Councillor Ron Ellsworth 
Transportation & Regulatory Services Councillor Maggie Burton 
Community Services Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O’Leary 
Development Councillor Jamie Korab 
Housing Councillor Ophelia Ravencroft 
Audit Councillor Jill Bruce 
Youth Matters Councillor Maggie Burton

Committees (standing, advisory, working group, expert panel) 

Audit Standing Committee Councillor Jill Bruce (Lead), Mayor Danny Breen, Councillor Ron Ellsworth 
Arts & Culture Advisory Committee Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O’Leary 
Bike St. John’s Advisory Committee Councillor Maggie Burton and Councillor Ian Froude 
Inclusion Advisory Committee Councillor Debbie Hanlon 
Seniors Advisory Committee Councillor Debbie Hanlon 
Affordable Housing Working Group Councillor Ophelia Ravencroft 
Built Heritage Experts Panel Councillor Maggie Burton 
Environment and Sustainability Experts Panel Councillor Maggie Burton and Councillor Ian Froude


St. John’s Sports & Entertainment Board of Directors Councillor Ron Ellsworth; Mayor Danny Breen (Interim Chair)
St. John’s Transportation Commission Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O’Leary and Councillors Ian Froude and Maggie Burton 
Pippy Park Commission Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O’Leary 
Bowring Park Foundation Councillor Carl Ridgeley 
Municipalities NL Mayor Danny Breen 
Canada Games 2025To Be Determined 
St. John’s Regional Fire Dept. Councillors Carl Ridgeley and Ron Ellsworth 
Downtown St. John’s Councillor Ophelia Ravencroft 
Special Events Regulatory Committee Councillor Debbie Hanlon 
Regional Water & Wastewater Councillor Carl Ridgeley 
Northeast Avalon Joint Council Councillor Jill Bruce 
Quidi Vidi Rennies River Development Foundation Councillor Jamie Korab 
Clean St. John’s Councillor Jill Bruce 
Eastern Regional Services Board All Members of Council excluding Councillor Debbie Hanlon 
St. John’s Public Libraries Board Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O’Leary 
Canadian Capital Cities Councillor Sandy Hickman

Translate »